9 Restaurants and Cafes that I Recommend in Hyehwa, Seoul, South Korea

After living in northern Seoul for the past 6 years, Hyehwa (also known as Daehangno) has still been one of my favorite neighborhoods to hang out in. Here are some of the restaurants and cafes that I frequently visit.

<1> 믹스앤몰트 (Mix and Malt)

Mix and Malt is a popular western food restaurant for expats living in Seoul. My friend and I go there whenever we get tired of eating Korean food every day. I love that they decorate the whole building inside out for western holidays!

My favorite dishes are the chili mac and cheese, meat loaf, asparagus and long bean salad, and lasagna. They also have a wide selection of cocktails. The strawberry cream brûlée cocktail was expensive but good as a dessert cocktail. Select your order from the menu tablet and show them to your waiter.

Naver Place
Instagram
Google Maps

<2> 깔리 (Kali)

My husband and I always go to Kali when we crave Indian food in Hyehwa. I recently found out that it’s a franchise located in various neighborhoods in Seoul. We usually get the cheapest 2-people set and sometimes get the samosa as well. You’ll most likely have to wait in line on weekends here!


Naver Place
Instagram
Google Maps

<3> 멘야산다이메 (Menya-Sandaime)

Menya Sandaime is a Japanese-style ramen franchise in Korea and one of their locations is in Hyehwa. It’s a small location with maybe six counter seats and four tables. I always get the grilled dumplings on the side.

Naver Place
Instagram
Google Maps

<4> 호호식당 (Hoho Sikdang)

Hoho Sikdang is a Japanese food restaurant in a Korean traditional Hanok-style house. On weekends, there will be a wait, and you’ll have to register your phone number to their system to be on the waiting list. I enjoyed their salmon bowl and my friend loved the Japanese-style pickles there. Recently they have also opened another store in Ikseon-dong.

Naver Place
Instagram
Google Maps

<5> 정돈 (Jung-don)

Jung-don serves thick slices of tonkatsu. Their tonkatsu is more of a Japanese-style than the thinner Korean ones. They also get long lines on weekends so make sure to go early. Now their second location is open in Gangnam.

Naver Place
Instagram
Google Maps

<6> 버거파크 (Burger Park)

I have been to the Burger Park near Sungshin Women’s University Station several times, but they have recently opened a second location in Hyehwa. From the photos I see from blogs and Instagram posts, they look equally good! As an avocado-lover I get the avocado burger whenever it’s available. Get your order from the ticket machine!

Their burgers from the Sungshin Women’s University location.

Naver Place
Instagram
Google Maps

<7> 순대실록 (Sundae Silrok)

Whenever I want soondae (sundae), but I don’t want to get it from the outdoor food stands, I would go to Sundaesilrok. My favorite is their stir-fried sundae because there are plenty of vegetables in it. Finish the dish off with fried rice if you have space left in your stomach!

Naver Place
Instagram
Google Maps

<8> 스노브 (Snob)

Snob is the place to go if you like cakes that aren’t too sweet. I also like getting their peach oolong tea. It can be hard to find a seat on weekends. They have another location in Hongdae and in Seochon as well.

Naver Place
Instagram
Google Maps

<9> 제프리 카벤디쉬 런던 (Jeffrey Cavendish London)

At Jeffery, you can enjoy some desserts, drinks, and also buy some flowers. It feels so nice to be in a cafe full of flowers. And yes, that is a picture of a drink with a huge ball of cotton candy on top. They also opened another cute flower cafe near Suyu Station.

Naver Place
Instagram
Google Maps

drooling

Which restaurant or cafe caught your attention? Hope you enjoy your experience there as much as I do!