9 Habits that I’ve acquired as a teacher in Korea

Trying a different approach for my blog ^^

So these are some things that I have grown accustomed to because of my workplace.

  1. Brushing my teeth after lunch
    -I used to brush only once a day, but now it’s twice a day. Everyone brushes their teeth after lunch here, so it made me feel conscious about my breath, and now it feels weird to not brush!

    Image

  2. Grabbing toilet paper before entering the bathroom
    -You have to grab the right amount of paper before you enter your stall… or else… yeah.

    Image

  3. Eating lunch under 15 minutes
    -I used to be the last one to finish eating. I couldn’t make my co-workers wait every time and I eventually became faster than them… I should chew more.

    Image

    Image

  4. Immediately switching to my indoor sandals when I get to school
    -Forget those outdoor shoes! Especially heels… they’re uncomfortable.

    Image

  5. Talking in a simple, comprehensible English
    -It makes communication with my co-teachers and students much smoother.

    Image

  6. Exaggerating body language and facial expressions
    -It grabs the attention of many students and helps the lower level students.

    Image

  7. Taking a power nap after class
    -Always exhausted after entertaining the super energetic students for 4 hours straight. Those 15-minutes really help when I want to concentrate in the afternoon.

    Image

  8. Responding to the students when they call me “teacher” or “saem”
    -It took some time getting used to, but now I embrace it.

    Image

    Image

  9. Waving my hands for a “hello” to every student that I recognize
    -I’m like a superstar at school!

    Image

 

Leave a Reply

